Mayor & City Council

Regular Meetings

  • 3rd Monday of every month
  • City Council Chambers
    117 Cook Street
    Dayton, TX 77535

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. 
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

The City Council is the City of Dayton's legislative and policy-making body. The six-member council provides community leadership, develops policies and guides the City in delivering services and achieving community goals while encouraging awareness and involvement. Pursuant to its provisions and subject only to the limitations imposed by the state constitution and by the city charter, all powers of the city are vested in the elective council, which enacts local legislation, adopts budgets, determines policies, and appoints the city manager.

The Dayton City Council is comprised of five elected Councilmembers, elected by place; said places being one through five, and one Mayoral position elected "at-large." Council Members and the Mayor are each elected to a term of two years, with elections staggered so that no more than three members are up for election in a particular year.

Dayton City Council meetings are typically held on the third Monday of each month at 6 p.m. Meetings, which are open to the public, are held in the City Council Chambers, located in City Hall, 117 Cook St.