home page

Dayton Texas

City Manager

The City of Dayton operates under the council-manager form of government. As designated by the City Charter, the City Manager is appointed by the Mayor and City Council and serves as the chief executive officer for the city organization. He manages the day-to-day operations of the various city departments and staff, directing delivery of services and executing all city policies and ordinances. In addition, the City Manager and his staff guide all goals and strategies of the city operations including future city development and expansion of services.

Document (1)

City Manager Theo Melancon was appointed by the City Council on July 3, 2017. 

Theo received his Juris Doctor/Graduate Diploma in Comparative Law Degree from Louisiana State University Paul M. Hebert Law Center and his Master's in Public Administration from Louisiana State University. He also holds a Bachelor's Degree in History from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. Theo is a member of the Texas City Management Association, where he serves on the organization's Ethics Committee and the International City/County Management Association. 


Deputy City Manager (Public Safety) Robert Vine also serves as the City's Police Chief. A veteran police officer, Chief Vine has over 22 years of law enforcement and public safety experience.

Rob holds a Batchelor's degree from Ambassador University and is a graduate of the Bill Blackwood Law Enforcement Management Institute of Texas. He holds a Master Peace Officer License and is a certified Forensic Hypnotist and Hostage/Crisis Negotiator. He is a member of the Texas Police Chief's Association and a Rotarian.  


Assistant City Manager (Finance/Administration) Rudy Zepeda has served as the City's Finance Director since 2014 and has over 22 years of experience in finance.

Rudy holds a Batchelor of Science degree from the University of Arizona.  He is a member of the Government Finance Officers Association. 

Document 2

Assistant City Manager (Planning) Kimberly Judge has served as the City's Development and Planning Director since 2014 and has over 28 years of experience in Planning and Development Services.

Kimberly holds a Batchelor of Science degree from the Prarie View A&M University.

Theo Melancon
City Manager
Phone: 936-258-2642

City Manager's Office

Physical Address

117 Cook Street
Dayton, TX 77535

Phone: 936-258-2642
Fax: 936-258-2348